Football Tickets
Uploaded Ad
Tribe Club
W&M's Elaina Balouris Repeats as CAA Athlete of the Year
Updated: Saturday 12/12/2013 (ET)
by Jacob Skipper
Share |

Related Links
William and Mary senior Elaina Balouris (Allison Park, Pa.) was named the Colonial Athletic Association Women's Cross Country Athlete of the Year on Thursday, after a season in which she helped make conference history and was named All-American for the fourth time.  In addition to her repeat performance, Tribe coach Jill Miller also was named CAA Coach of the Year for the second year in a row after leading W&M to the best score in conference history.  As well, Tribe sophomore Meghan McGovern (North Wales, Pa.) was named to the first-ever CAA All-Academic squad.

Balouris, who is the first repeat-winner of the Athlete of the Year award since 2004-05, was the Tribe's top runner in four of her six races with three victories.  She was the CAA individual champion for the second year in a row, and was also the winner at the Spider Alumni Open and the Panorama Farms Invitational and set course records in both the latter two races.  Balouris was named the CAA Runner of the Week after both those wins, and was also the National Runner of the Week following the season-opening race in Richmond.  In the post-season, Balouris was sixth overall at the Southeast Regional, and finished her career by placing 11th at the NCAA Championships.

Balouris is the sixth repeat-winner of the cross country Athlete of the Year award in CAA history, and the second to do so for W&M alongside Hall-of-Famer Marcie Homan '95.  She also won Athlete of the Year honors in track and field last spring, making her one of just 32 athletes across every sport in the history of the conference to have three Athlete of the Year awards alongside such names as Matt Lane '01, David Robinson of Navy, and Elena Delle Donne of Delaware.  Balouris has a chance to win her fourth Athlete of the Year award this spring, an achievement only two other runners (Lane, 5, and VCU's Maria-Elena Calle, 4) have reached and one that only eight athletes in any sport have achieved.

Also earning repeat honors was Miller, who coached the Tribe to its second consecutive CAA title and the first back-to-back NCAA appearances in school history.  Already with a successful regular season in the books, the Tribe made CAA history by becoming the first team to score a perfect 15 points at the conference meet, sweeping the top five places.  At the region championships, W&M set program-records for the fewest points scored (69) and the highest placing (second, matching last season), and earned an automatic bid to the national championships.  On a cold and muddy NCAA course, Miller's athletes finished 12th overall, and recorded the lowest score in school history with 322 points.  Overall, the Tribe had a 126-21 record, seven All-CAA performers, four all-region honors, and its first-ever region champion and region Athlete of the Year.

CAA Athlete of the Year - Elaina Balouris, W&M
CAA Rookie of the Year - Lucy Young, NU
CAA Coach of the Year - Jill Miller, W&M

CAA All-Conference Team
Elaina Balouris, W&M
Emily Stites, W&M
Michelle Britto, W&M
Meghan McGovern, W&M
Dylan Hassett, W&M
Lucy Young, NU
Carolyn Hennessey, W&M
Elizabeth Tauber, Towson
Emily Gispert, Delaware
Erica Amatori, W&M
Meghan Malloy, JMU
Tessa Mundell, JMU

CAA All-Academic Team
Jenna Flickinger, JMU
Kornelia Kostka, CofC
Kristin Mathis, Hofstra
Meghan McGovern, W&M
Lindsay Prettyman, Delaware
Ashley Simmons, Towson
Ashley Wybersky, UNCW

CAA Athletes of the Year (3+ Awards)
5-Time Winners
Matt Lane, W&M (XC/T&F)
4-Time Winners
Mary Kay Bolduc, ODU (S&D) Nataly Cahana, ODU (Tennis) Maria-Elena Calle, VCU (XC/T&F) Marina DiGiacomo, ODU (FH)
Olivia Galati, Hofstra (Softball) Kate Hynes, Drexel (S&D) Megan Moulton-Levy, W&M (Tennis)  
3-Time Winners
Emily Anderson, W&M (XC/T&F) Arni Arnason, ODU (S&D) Elaina Balouris, W&M (XC/T&F) Lucienne Berthieu, ODU (WBB)
Gabriella C'sepe, AU (S&D) Mollie DeFrancesco, JMU (XC/T&F) Elena Delle Donne, Delaware (WBB) Heidi Erpelding, W&M (VB)
George Evans, GMU (MBB) Diane Guthrie, GMU (T&F) Celeste Hill, ODU (WBB) Tom Koucheravy, GMU (S&D)
Charlotte Lorentzen, GSU (Golf) Kayleigh Lotti, Hofstra (Softball) Ed Moran, W&M (XC/T&F) Lauren Nikolaus, W&M (Tennis)
Randy Parker, JMU (S&D) Aline Pereira, GMU (VB) Anna Raynor, UNCW (T&F) David Robinson, Navy (MBB)
Jerry Roney, JMU (T&F) Steve Santonicola, AU (S&D) Carol Thate, JMU (FH) Pete Weilenmann, JMU (XC)

sign up for enews alerts
Tribe on Facebook
Social Media